News & Events

Hon. Agyeman-Manu Inaugurates governing board of Korle Bu Teaching Hospital

The Minister of Health, Hon. Kwaku Agyeman-Manu has inaugurated the governing board of the Korle-bu Teaching Hospital.

The 11-member governing board, which is chaired by Dr. David Ansah Dwamena, includes Dr. Opoku Ware Ampomah, Mr Jerry Ahmed Shaib, Dr. Radha Maria Odua Hackman, Dr. Micheal Owusu, Mr. Albert Wiredu Arkoh.

Other members of the board are Mrs. Hannah Akua Oparebea Acquah, Prof. Margeret Yaa Lartey, Rev. Prof. Patrick Ferdinand K. Ayeh-Kumi, Mr. Charles Nana Ofori and Mr. Samuel Adjei Odame.

In his welcome address, Hon. Agyeman-Manu thanked the nominees for accepting to serve on the board to help in the management and supervision of the hospital.

He called on the board to institute measures to ensure that KBTH continues to be the largest health facility in the country.

“Government is strategically trying to open up the hospital to help accommodate a lot of medical professionals who will meet the demand generated in the completion of Agenda 111”, the Minister announced to the governing board.

The Health Minister also revealed that the government is planning on creating a medical tourism hub in Ghana, adding that the government will continue to invest in Korle-Bu to expand as well as remodel old facilities that are dilapidated.

Dr. David Ansah Dwamena, in acceptance remarks on behalf of the board, assured the minister of putting patients need first in the running of the hospital as well as doing everything for the benefit of the hospital.

Source: MoH PR Unit

Back to top button